- Gov. Reynolds signs new proclamation State Public Health Emergency Declaration - the declaration will affect Contractor Registration, as long as the emergency proclamation continues, in the following way:
- Registrations will expire; however, enforcement of any expiration is suspended during this time
- Division of Labor COVID-19 office updates
- Coronavirus Resources
Iowa law requires all individual “Construction Contractors” and businesses performing “construction” work to be registered with the Iowa Division of Labor if they earn at least $2,000.00 a year from construction. Individuals or businesses making less than $2,000.00 a year on “construction” work, or who work only on their own real estate or property, are not required to register. More information can be found by reviewing the Iowa Code and Administrative Rules.
Registering with the Iowa Division of Labor
Print and complete the New Application/Renewal Form. The form cannot be completed without an Iowa Unemployment Insurance account number and appropriate federal identification or social security numbers. Mail the completed form with all required attachments and non-refundable $50.00 annual fee to the Iowa Division of Labor - Contractor Registration. If the application is complete, processing may take up to 30 days.
Renewals are not accepted over the phone, an application must be completed or renewed online.
Plumbing, HVAC/R, Hydronics, and Mechanical Professionals
If your business provides any type of plumbing, mechanical, HVAC, refrigeration, sheet metal or hydronic systems services, you are required to obtain a license with the Plumbing & Mechanical Systems Board. Visit the Plumbing & Mechanical Systems Board or call 866-280-1521 to complete a joint application for a 3-year registration and contractor license. Do not complete an online application and payment with Contractor Registration.
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, contractors that must obtain a license from the Plumbing & Mechanical Systems Board have been granted emergency extensions to complete the combined registration and licensing process. Read more about the emergency rule extending the time to renew your contractor registration number. Visit the Plumbing & Mechanical Systems Board or call 866-280-1521 for more details about the licensing extension.
Unemployment Insurance Number
Each contractor is required to obtain an unemployment insurance number before applying for contractor registration even if the contractor has no employees. To obtain a unemployment insurance number visit www.myiowaui.org or contact customer service at IWDuitax@iwd.iowa.gov or 888-848-7442 (select language, then option 1, 1 then 2).
If you would like to apply for or renew a contractor registration number in person, we are located at 150 Des Moines Street, Des Moines, IA 50309. If you do not have an unemployment insurance account number (UI#), visit www.myiowaui.org and obtain a UI# before coming to the contractor registration office.
Most contractors must send a non-refundable check or money order in the amount of $50.00 to pay the registration fee. Self-employed contractors who meet the criteria may send a completed fee exemption form instead of payment. To qualify for registering without payment, the following must be met:
- a self-employed contractor must not work with or for other contractors in the same phases of construction
- must not pay more than $2,000.00 per year to employ other people in the business
- business must not be classified as an LLC, Corporation or Partnership
Registering an Out-of-State Business
Out-of-state contractors must file a $25,000.00 surety bond at the time of registration. The bond must meet the following three criteria in order to be valid:
- the bond must be executed by a surety company licensed to do business in Iowa
- the bond must be issued on the Out-of-State Bond form with the bonding company's seal and two original signatures
- the bonding company must attach their Power of Attorney (POA) to the form. Once accepted, a valid bond is considered continuous until a cancellation from the bonding company is received. If an out-of-state contractor is pre-qualified to bid on projects for the Iowa Department of Transportation (DOT), they may submit their DOT-issued pre-qualification letter in lieu of a bond.
A contractor with a branch office in Iowa does not qualify as an in-state contractor if the contractor's business is primarily based outside of Iowa.
Visit the Contractor Registration Public Portal to apply for a new registration or renew your registration. Credit card or ACH payments will not be accepted over the phone.
Need help with applying online, use these step by step directions.
There will be a 3% service fee added to your total purchase amount or a 30 cent service fee added to your ACH (checking account) payment.
Contact Contractor Registration
Contractor Registration Application/Renewal Form - English
Contractor Registration Application/Renewal Form - Spanish
Fee Exemption Form
Out-of-State Contractor Bond Form
Out-of-State Contractor Bond Requirements
Owner/Officer Addition/Removal Form
Database of Iowa's Current Contractor Registrations
Definition of Construction
Disaster Emergency Proclamations
Contractor Registration Questions and Answers
Iowa Code and Administrative Rules
License Requirements in Iowa
Important Construction Reminders
The Davis-Bacon and Related Acts (DBRA)
Report of Construction Contractor's Wage Rates (WD-10) Form
Open Records Requests